Home > Software > Network inventory using Spiceworks

Network inventory using Spiceworks


Just wanted to drop in a quick post before I head off to sleep for the night. It’s rather cold here, so I’ll keep this brief. 🙂

If you are running a small to medium sized network, it often seems that things can quickly get out of control software wise. You lose track of what’s installed where, serial numbers, what’s been updated or removed. Then there’s the little matter of users installing software as well given the chance.

I discovered Spiceworks on a link in the www.edugeek.net forums, and after reading up on it, I decided to give it a try. My network is about 82 computers big, plus some network printer multi funtion machines. Initially I had some minor issues with the product, including slow scans, but as I kept using it, those bugs got fixed and new featured kept on coming. Once I discovered how to get the Windows Firewall to let Windows WMI information through, things got far better.

The information it has provided me has been invaluable. I’ve used it to actually be proactive, instead of reactive. I’ve ordered new toner cartridges because of it, cleaned out hard drive capacities, and removed ancient software that we no longer needed. As a bonus, it’s also picked up serial numbers for most of the hardware, so I’m able to keep better asset records.

Version 3 is due out very soon, and from what I understand it will have some awesome new features. However, it’s most awesome feature by far is it’s price: free!

It’s ad supported in its web interface, with the adverts being displayed pretty useful and relevant to the IT users using it. There is also a very big active community that shares knowledge on just about every IT subject available. There are some really really clued up people in there.

I am only scratching the surface here of this great product, so head over to www.spiceworks.com and see more for yourself. My only wishes for the ptoduct is that the speed of the scans can be improved, as well as the web interface made more speedy. I think the interface is using Web 2.0 technologies, but not every browser can handle that with good speed.

I can’t wait to see what version 3 has to offer 😀

 

Categories: Software
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

