Home > General > WiFi access in shopping malls

WiFi access in shopping malls


Yesterday I was out shopping with my mom in a mall called Constantia Village. It’s placed more or less in the heart of the Constantia suburb, with stunning scenery all round. The mall itself isn’t the typical big mall, it’s smaller and caters for more upmarket things generally.

I noticed that they have implemented a free WiFi zone through the mall, as I could pick it up on my Nokia N80 thoughout the mall. I don’t know how long the system has been in place for, but it must be over 6 months.

I was able to access a few test sites using my phone, after logging into their captive portal based system. It’s hard to judge speed when you are using a phone, since the whole feel of using internet changes when you are using it.

I find it an interesting concept though, the idea that just being in the mall gives you 50MB of data and an hour free. I’m not aware of any other shopping mall here in Cape Town that offers something similar. I imagine that if a huge place like Canal Walk tried it though, they would quickly run up a huge data bill. Plus with so many coffee shops offering it, I’m sure the channels would eventually get rather cluttered.

Categories: General
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

