Home > Computer Hardware > Insane amounts of storage space space

Insane amounts of storage space space


I was browsing over at my favourite forums earlier on, and I discovered this thread under the hardware section, where people were discussing what amount of hard drive space they had available to them: http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthread.php?t=126912

It was simply stunning to read through this, and see that some people were pushing well over 2 terabytes of storage space 😯

At home, I have 2 250GB hard drives, which is enough space for myself for now. I don’t have movies on my computer, nor do I have sets of TV series. Yet, I intend to have plenty of virtual machines for testing purposes, and that will eventually eat up space as well, so in the end I will need to get bigger drives.

I guess the most insane part about the whole thing is that I’m still working with 10GB hard drives here at work. I’m struggling to keep these drives from filling up and killing performance, yet some people in that thread have terabytes’ worth of data and have almost no free space. That fact shows to me the insane progress of the hard drive industry over the last 10 years. 10 years ago, 10Gb or smaller was the norm, no one could possibly imagine why you would need more space.

I guess as the internet and technology has evolved, the requirement for space has shot up. Also, people are no longer really backing up to dvd because of the sheer size of some things, so instead hard drives are used, bue to the simple cheapness and speed of the drive.

The risks of drives going bad are always there, but most people seem to be willing to take that risk these days. The solution I’ve seen is to just buy more drives and use it as external backup.

I guess this is my most rambling post ever, but I’m still struggling to wrap my head around the fact that people have the amount of storage space at their fingertips now, that once was the domain of Fortune 500 Companies only.

That’s progress for you 😎

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

