Home > Software > Microsoft Exchange is complex

Microsoft Exchange is complex


I have used MS Exchange in 2 versions now, versions 2000 and 2003. The 2003 version is by far the better of the two, but I have realised something lately that I had forgotten something I had always known: Exchange is a complex beast.

On the surface, an installation of Exchange is not that tough, I’ve done it multiple times. Also, basic administration is not that tough, and getting clients connected is pretty simple. More or less in this sense, I have been administering Exchange for the last 3 and a half years. I’ve poked a little under the surface as time went on, and have learnt some tips and tricks, but I still felt I was only scratching the surface of what is available.

Recently I was asked about using the Calendar sharing feature that Outlook and Exchange offers, and I was left stumped. I agree with the idea of using it, I think it’s a good idea to keep track of senior management at this school. However, I had never made use of this facility, and I started running into issues. I discovered that Personal Folders in Outlook cannot be shared like folders that appear in the users “Mailbox” set of folders. This puts the immediate idea of sharing the Mailbox Calendar to bed, as most of management have mail delivered to Personal Folders and not the Mailbox.

We could stop using Personal Folders, and transfer evertrhing back into the Mailbox, but then people can’t access mail when they take laptops home, and if there is a server crash, everything goes. That left me looking into the idea of Public Folders, since everyone can see those, and it seems like a great idea.

I’m at the stage now where I am experimenting, but I still need to learn and read further. There are so many options and features hidden below the surface that it’s tough to know what does what.

  1. November 11, 2008 at 10:01

    Nice site. Theres some good information on here. Ill be checking back regularly.

  1. November 11, 2008 at 10:18

Leave a Reply

