Home > Software > Windows Vista Service Pack 2

Windows Vista Service Pack 2


Service Pack 2 for Vista has been out now for a few weeks. I finally got around to downloading it at my work this past week to bring home to apply to my system. This was the second time I was downloading it, as the first time the download had become corrupt somehow.

The download for the X64 platform weighs in at 577MB for the stand alone installer. I always download the stand alones, as I want to save the file for later (re)use.

Installation is a snap, with 3 or 4 clicks needed to get it going. After you’ve clicked yes to the final question, it starts with a process under Windows where it does something. I say something because I don’t know what it is for sure, but the green progress bar moves along.

After that your pc shuts down to restart. Before it does, the service pack goes through 2 of the 3 stages of the service pack. After the reboot, before you can log in, stage 3 happens. After that, you can log in. Total install time is roughly 40 minutes. at least on my computer. It’s not quite as long as service pack 1 was luckily.

Some people have reported gaining lots of free space after applying the pack. I however haven’t gained anything, as I already had System Restore turned off, which was probably the cause of the gains.

Overall, I haven’t had a major speed increase, nor have I had a decrease. I haven’t seen some of the new features that apparently is included in the pack, so I can’t comment on that. What I can say is that it is good to have been able to catch up in terms of security updates.

In closing, I would suggest that you apply the service pack when you can. It seems Microsoft is focussing everything on Windows 7 now, so Vista is unlikely to gain much in the way of new features as time goes on. Pity really, as it is a wonderful OS. With Service Pack 2, you don’t gain much, but at least you keep yourself relatively secure.

Categories: Software Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

