Home > Internet, Personal > Telkom Mega 105WR: Follow up after almost a year

Telkom Mega 105WR: Follow up after almost a year


I previously wrote about the Telkom Mega 105WR router here, and after almost a year’s worth of use, I thought I would do a follow up.

Most of my original comments still stand on the device, it is quite powerful and feature rich for a telco supplied device. However, one thing that has not improved is the routine freezing of the device. Almost like clockwork, the router needs to be restarted every 7-8 days, as I can’t access the web console, and wireless struggles to remain connected.

Doing some research on the router revealed that it appeared to have a high return rate, for this reason and diverse others. I looked on the manufacturer’s website for an updated firmware, to no avail. I even tried emailing their support address, to which I have still not gotten a reply to this day.

A few weeks ago, I decided to take the router back into the shop to try and get a replacement model before the guarantee ran out. I duly packed up everything and went to the Telkom shop. I was duly informed that they could not exchange the router directly, I first had to call the national ADSL support line, go through the troubleshooting tips, and then get a reference number. Come back with that they said, and we’ll do a swap. Then came the interesting news: “Telkom no longer supply this router, so you will be getting another model”

I am guessing that the problem rate with this router was high enough to cause Telkom to move to another model. I looked in the shop, and it appeared that the most likely replacement model would be another Telkom branded router, called the Duoplus 300WR. After looking up the specs of this thing on the internet, I was left less than pleased. The wireless antenna is only 3dbi, half the strength of the current model. It would mean me having to buy a new aerial, which I don’t want to do. I could be wrong however, as there were also Netgear routers in the shop, which may also be an option. I’m not fully sure.

To cut a long story short, I am still running the old Mega 105WR at home, and I’m not yet sure what I plan to do about it. I am tempted to buy a proper name brand router, but at this point I’m trying to find one that has all the features I need and is not too expensive.

My advice is that if you have one of these devices, and it routinely freezes up like mine, get the reference number, swap the model out and hopefully the newer router will perform better. I can’t recommend this router anymore, it just doesn’t perform as expected. Rather buy a name brand router, it will serve you better in the long run.

  1. Telscum
    July 28, 2011 at 20:28

    I say burn anything that is Telkom branded and buy proper equipment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

