Home > Personal > Updating my Samsung TV’s firmware

Updating my Samsung TV’s firmware


In my last post, I mentioned some of the quirks I encountered trying to update the firmware on my Samsung Blu-ray player. I also mentioned that I would be attempting to update the firmware on my TV after that. I did the procedure the day after my last post and it went like a breeze.

In summary, the process went a lot like this:

  • Finish downloading firmware. File is a self-extracting RAR archive.
  • Copy file to empty flash drive, run the executable. Files extract automatically.
  • Safely Remove flash drive
  • Start TV up and insert flash drive.
  • Use remote to navigate menu, choose Software Update option. TV searches for flash drive, finds it and offers to update firmware. Press OK and let TV do its update.
  • TV finishes flashing, restarts. Update complete.
    Overall the procedure took under 5 minutes and retained all the settings that were previously there. I was impressed and pleased at the ease of use of doing it via flash drive. Now if only the Blu-ray player had been as easy to update. Samsung will probably get it right in their next generation Blu-ray players.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

