Home > General > Back to work tomorrow

Back to work tomorrow


Tomorrow is my first day back at work for 2012. It also happens to be the day when the grade 12 learners of 2011 receive their results at the school. This means that the day will be chaotic and busy until the results are released, but it’s always interesting to see the reactions of the kids to their results.

I also have a new colleague starting tomorrow, which means for the first time in just over 4 months, I won’t be working alone anymore. I’ve now been “promoted” to Senior Network Administrator, which comes with higher responsibilities but hopefully also a touch more freedom to oversee changes that need to be made. It’s a bit scary to realise that if anything goes catastrophically wrong, the buck stops with me. Then again, I’ve been in this spot the last 4 months, as well as at my previous job, so it’s nothing all that new I think.

As for my new colleague, it’s going to be interesting training him and getting him up to speed. He doesn’t have too much experience in a school environment, which is both a blessing and a curse. Curse because he needs to be moulded and trained, blessing because he will most likely be open to ideas and suggestions. He is also 13 years older than me, which is a somewhat scary feeling to be in charge of someone so much older than myself. Time will tell how our partnership works out, and if we reach the same level of ease that my former colleague and I had.

On a different note, I intend to blog a lot more this coming year. It’s about time that I start documenting my experiences with new software and tools and make this blog more useful again.

I hope everyone has an interesting, fulfilling 2012. If nothing else, changes in the tech world are going to make things interesting for sure.

Categories: General
  1. January 4, 2012 at 10:51

    And what’s happening with the phone system???

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

