Home > My tips and tricks, Software > Fixing Windows Update issues

Fixing Windows Update issues


About three weeks ago, I approved a number of updates to be downloaded into WSUS for distribution on the school network. Among those updates was an update for the Windows Update client itself. I watched the WSUS console as the computers started reporting back and after a while I began to notice an odd pattern. 36 out of 39 computers in our main computer lab were not reporting in.

Taking a look at one of the affected computers in the lab, the cause of the computer not reporting in became clear: Windows Update Agent 7.6.7600.320 was failing to install repeatedly. Since this new version was required to download and install updated from WSUS, the computers would not be able to patch themselves until this Agent issue was fixed.

I tried numerous approaches to get the issue fixed: Uninstall anti-virus software, try installing updates at shutdown instead of through Windows Update in the Control Panel, run the System Update Readiness checker tool, run System File Check from the command prompt. Nothing worked. I was on the verge of preparing to wipe the lab and reimage the computers when I came across the answer.

Thanks to some vigorous internet scouring, I came across this Knowledge Base article on Microsoft’s website: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2887535. Thankfully, the latest update agent was available to download right there from the article. I downloaded the 64 bit version and attempted to install the update manually on my affected lab computer. After a required reboot, I had success. Windows Update connected again and proceeded to download the now missing 17 updates and installed them. With this proving to be the solution, I went to each computer and installed the new update agent by hand. One by one, these computers were cured of the issue.

One computer however refused to install the updated agent. Checking the CBS Log file found in C:\Windows\Logs\CBS revealed that it thought it needed to be rebooted before updates could be installed. However, rebooting did not solve the problem. I’ve had issues in the past with Server 2008 where it got stuck on updates and needed a certain XML file to be deleted before it would boot again. Going to the location of the XML file, I couldn’t find the usual XML file. I did however find a reboot.xml file, which I viewed. This file pointed to a registry key that I assume was supposed to be deleted after the last round of updates. Since the key wasn’t deleted, the computer still thought it needed to be restarted. Deleting this key and rebooting solved the issue – I could now install the updated agent and install updates again.

At this point in time, I’m still not exactly sure why this lab of computers failed to install the update agent while the rest of the school did so without much fuss. About the only thing I can think of is that it’s somehow related to how the lab was cloned which was somehow causing an issue. Reading through the CBS logs doesn’t shed much light on the issue, since I don’t fully understand everything that’s captured in those log files.

I suppose this serves as a good reminder that while WSUS and Windows Updates in general normally just work, sometimes things can go wrong.

  1. Jake
    October 17, 2014 at 11:39

    Hi, I have the same problem where my PC keeps reinstalling 7.6.7600.320 despite the installation indicated as SUCCESSFUL. My reboot.XML shows,
    Which registry keys did you delete to get updates working again? Thanks if you can offer any help.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

