Home > Computer Hardware > Firmware update fun

Firmware update fun


A couple of years ago, flashing any device’s firmware was often a difficult, frustrating and sometimes downright dangerous task. Always hoping that the device wouldn’t get bricked due to some unknown bug in the firmware, or worse still, a power failure right in the middle of the flash.

These days for things like motherboards, it can be as easy as flashing inside Windows, or using the built in feature on the motherboard. Generally speaking, you no longer have to use MS-DOS and try to find floppy disks or use an alternative, it just works. Intel motherboards in particular are usually very straight forward when it comes to this: run the Express Update inside Windows. Windows reboots, the motherboard flashes itself, reboots and you are back into Windows. No other intervention required.

Thus it was a bit irritating a few weeks ago when I decided to flash some of Z68 motherboards to their latest (and last) BIOS version. I ran the Express Update inside Windows as I’ve done countless other times. Computer reboots, fails to flash the firmware and then goes back into Windows. No matter what I tried, the firmware would not update. My next step was to download the *.bio file from Intel’s website, place it on a flash drive and press F7 during boot, so that I can update the BIOS. This didn’t work as well:

WP_20140715_002

That leaves me only one option – use Intel’s Iflash tool. I don’t have a copy of MS-DOS lying around, and I didn’t feel like going through many hoops just to get a flash drive set up correctly. I discovered that Iflash works with FreeDOS, so I simply placed the files on a flash drive I have set up with Ultimate Boot CD, which includes FreeDOS. Run Iflash, the computer reboots, but then sits for a while doing nothing. I was about to reset the computer when I noticed the power led on the computer doing a slow pulse. I remembered that Intel motherboards generally do this when updating the firmware or when in sleep mode, so I let the process go on. Sure enough, after about 3 minutes, the computer rebooted by itself. The latest BIOS was now installed and working correctly.

Thankfully there was only about 5 computers to do this on. I’m not sure why this model motherboard was so fussy, but it’s done now.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

